Her desire to stay consistent

The bell rang at 1 pm, I opened the door, and the maid came in with a scarred face.

She went to search for the broom to clean the house,

As she was busy cleaning, I asked her, “ Why are you late today, is everything all right..? “

Meanwhile, in my mind …

(Maybe she was sick,

Maybe she had guests

Or maybe traffic got her late ..)

But to my surprise came an answer I never thought of

She looked at me with her sparkling eyes and happily told me,

that she had gone for an interview, to work as a saleswoman in a nearby mall,

I was amazed and shocked.

She narrated her story of not liking the work she is doing

And how cursing herself for her situation was not a way through for her.

She explained her desire to work and give her children the future away from this.

She continued how she managed time between working door to door as a house-help and studying in-between

The hope she had to continue to improve even if she didn’t get selected was inspiring.


Many times we come across experiences that leave us inspired,

Which teaches us how we should not be harsh on ourselves when things don’t work the way ‘we’ supposed it to be,

Sometimes how giving up and telling ourselves that the grapes are sour feels normal,

Instead,

Tell yourself how being Consistent and Believing In Yourself is important.

Do comment if you experienced a similar situation?